top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Aneesah Lasaan Reveals Show Preps, Upcoming Performance At Delancey, And Completed Project

Updated: Jan 30, 2020

As a R&B singer, Aneesah Lasaan ensures to make her presence known especially through performances. With multiple shows that she was scheduled to attend last year, including "Zoo Rass And Friends: Holiday Edition" at the Mercury Lounge in NYC, Lasaan has strong intensions to leave her mark on any stage she enters.


At the top of 2020, Lassan's next performance is already set as the singer is scheduled to perform live at Delancey on February 11. However, Lasaan also has an upcoming project that is officially complete.

Before her next performance, Check Out Lasaan's interview below where she shares her experience as brand ambassador for both the Voice Box, and Lume app while preparing for her show at Delancey on February, 11, inc addition to her upcoming project entitled "Timing Is Everything":

News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?


Aneesah Lasaan: I was about 7 years old. I’ve always loved music. I would randomly write my own songs and my mom would encourage me to write about anything I was feeling at the time. I went off to do off Broadway shows, I got the chance to perform at the Apollo, I actually won the American Idol Experience in Walt Disney World in 2010. But I feel it wasn’t till my 20’s where I began to find myself as an artist.


News For People: At what point in your career did you make the decision to start taking classes at the Voice Box?


Aneesah Lasaan: I actually randomly came across a video on their Instagram about a year ago. I loved the vibe that I saw in the videos so I wanted to see what the classes were about. I haven’t been to many classes with them but I love the work that they do and what they stand for.

News For People: How does the Voice Box help with improvising your sound?


Aneesah Lasaan: I haven’t done much development with The Voice box as far as my artistry so I don’t think they have done much for my sound personally. However some of the beginning artist I’ve seen them work with over the year they have instilled a lot of confidence and helped them find their sound. Some artist had never released a song or been to the studio prior to joining and the voice box really paved the way for them to be able to experience that, which is so amazing to me.


News For People: What does it mean for your music career to be an ambassador for the Lum app, and the Voice Box?


Aneesah Lasaan: I was fortunate to be an ambassador for the Lum music app and the Voicebox. First of all the Lum music app is a really dope app for any underground/unsigned artist. They really care about the artist and have showed me so much love since joining the app. being an ambassador is another stepping stone in the right direction for me and Im thankful to be chosen to speak about both companies and my experience with them.


News For People: How do you mentally prepare moments before a performance?


Aneesah Lasaan: I like to be stress free before shows. I usually wake up in the morning, may go to the gym. I eat very light, usually just fruit and tea. I drink an immune system tea and a throat coat tea. I don’t like to be bothered or talk before I go up for my set I like to make sure my mind is clear so that I perform to the best of my ability. Anything that will likely cause me stress I steer away from.

News For People: What thoughts runs through your mind when performing on stage?

Aneesah Lasaan: Honestly Im zoned out lol. I’m such a heavy thinker in my everyday life but when I’m onstage that’s when I think the least. I really tap into the songs and take myself back to the moment that I wrote them.


News For People: What can people expect from your upcoming show at Delancey on February 11?


Aneesah Lasaan: They can expect to see a different performance than my other shows. Very intimate, different vibe, and new songs!


News For People: With lessons that you continuously receive at the Voice Box, do you have any ideas, momentarily, based on releasing new music differently from your previous singles like "Bad Boy," and "Up All Night?"

Aneesah Lasaan: Prior to taking classes with TVB I actually already finished my upcoming project Timing is Everything (set to release soon). I think the songs on this project really embody who I am as an artist and the different things that I have went thru to produce this music. My goal for this project is to do more promo than I have ever done before. I think the classes that I have received have given me ideas on how to step out of my comfort zone, and I think the show on February 11th will show that.


News For People: With multiple performances that you were scheduled to attend last year, what's your thoughts on the accomplishments, looking back at it now?


Aneesah Lasaan: I was booked and busy okay ! I am so fortunate to have booked so many shows back to back with my amazing band. I’m always hard on myself because I feel like I need to be doing more to the point I don’t even congratulate myself on the things that I am already doing. Everything I do, I do on my own no major labels backing me, no investors, nothing. just surrounded by people who support me and appreciate my talent and hard work. In 2020 I plan to keep the same momentum going.

News For People: How do you plan to make your upcoming performance at Delancey different from your previous shows?

Aneesah Lasaan: So this show is actually the product of the work that I did being a part of the voicebox bootcamp. Im accustomed to doing my own shows and having my own band etc so this show is already different in nature because it’s making me step out of my comfort zone. Also the choice of songs that I am performing are not like any of my other sets. So I’m excited.


News For People: Do you have any artists who you would like to collaborate or perform with in the music industry someday?


Aneesah Lasaan: Bryson tiller, Summer Walker, Rico Love. I have a few but those are some names I wouldn’t mind working with. I love to write so one of my goals is to pen a song for anybody in the industry honestly lol


News For People: How can other artists benefit from the Lum Music app?


Aneesah Lasaan: They are truly supportive to the artist who join the app. They have made it so simple for artist. All you have to do is upload music to the app and people can stream it right there. They have also made it possible for artist to get paid for their streaming. It’s not just another streaming site they genuinely care about the artist on the app.


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey as a r&b singer in the music industry?


Aneesah Lasaan: My love for music. The way my songs make me feel. It’s very easy to get caught up in what’s happening around you and where you think you should be but I continue to remain true to myself and my art I know that what God has for me is always for me. The supportive friends and family that I have also keep me going. I know that I was born to make my mark on the world and it’s going to happen.


News For People: What else can people expect from you as an artist?


Aneesah Lasaan: Expect the unexpected. More visuals, more music, more vibes. I want people to see who Aneesah Lasaan really is.

News For People: What advise would you have for to r&b singers in the music industry?


Aneesah Lasaan: My advice would be stay true to who you are. Don’t get caught up in the hype or what others are doing. Your path is already mapped out for you , follow it and don’t ever give up. The road is lonely , it’s hard, it’s stressful but in the end it’s all worth it. Whether it’s 2 people or 40,000 people BE YOU, do you.

13 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page