top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Asha Details Her Blueprint With A different Aporoach In Music

Updated: Dec 9, 2019

After the release of her video for her debut single "Only You," Asha is determined to go the distance in her career as a R&B Singer.


Although she marked her debut in the music industry a year ago, she always had a passion for singing.


Check out Garrison's Interview below as sshe details her mindset in music:


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?


Asha: I’ve wanted to pursue my music career for as long as I can remember, but I started taking it serious a year ago. I grew up singing in church and I would always make up dances in my room and pretend like I was performing for a big crowd wherever I went. Music was always apart of me. Originally, I wanted to pursue music straight after high school, but I ended up getting a scholarship to Lincoln university so I decided to finish college first because I knew that was important to my mom. I graduated last year, may 2018 and I’ve been pursuing it ever since!


News For People: What makes you stand out from other artists in the music industry?


Asha: I think what makes me stand out from other artists is just me being me. I struggled with my confidence for so long that now that I’ve seen a glimpse of what I’m capable of, I can’t wait to give the people more! I think I have a sound that is very unique and original. Like if you’re listening to my music you won’t be able to say oh she sounds like such and such, you’ll know it’s me when you hear me and I think that’s amazing.


News For People: Who are some of your influences in music?


Asha: I have many influences that I grew up listening to, like Mariah Carey, Whitney Houston, Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson, Destiny’s child, and so many more amazing artists but my main two influences in my music are Beyonce’ and Aaliyah. As a young girl I remember I would try to learn all of beyonce’s runs and try to sing it just like she did and learned her choreography and tried to perform it just like she did. It was Beyoncé who inspired me to be not just a singer, but an entertainer. As far as Aaliyah, I always loved how she didn’t have to be a super glammed up girly girl. She was herself and added her own unique boyish yet feminine edge to everything she did to create a sound and a look that no one else had and I admired that most about her.


News For People: How would you describe your music?


Asha: I would describe my music as soft, but fierce. It’s actually funny seeing people’s reaction to my song because they’re like in disbelief that it’s me. They always say “is this you?! Lol!


News For People: What's your opinion on the current status of R&B music?


Asha: In My opinion, the current status of R&b is very different from what it used to be, however it is in great hands. We have artist like Chris brown, Ari Lennox, Sza, Ella mai, summer walker, Daniel Caesar, Khalid, HER, DVSN, and so many more amazing artists really making some great music that so many people love, including me.


News For People: How do you plan to change the current status of R&B music?


Asha: Well for one I don’t plan on being JUST an r&b singer. I want to dabble into different genres and honestly just make whatever music makes me happy at that moment whether that’s pop, or even gospel. I love all music and I want to be free to create without being judged.


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey as a singer in the music industry?


Asha: I’m motivated to continue my journey into music by my mom. Just knowing that She had to give up her dreams to single handedly raise 6 kids all on her own just makes me grind even harder. I lost my dad to colon cancer when I was 12 and during that same time my mom was also struggling with breast cancer so she’s definitely gone through a lot, but she made it through. She’s been the motivating force in my life and in my music career and I just want to make it for her.


News For People: How did it feel to you after releasing your debut single for "Only You?"


Asha: Honestly it was an indescribable feeling. It felt like my song was my baby and I was dropping it off at college putting it out into the world on its own for the first time lol I remember I was riding to the gas station on my lunch break from work with a friend of mine when it went live on Apple Music and I just remember telling him to stop the car and he blasted the song while I danced to it with everyone watching as they drove by. It was such an amazing feeling. It felt incredible. I really hope people love it as much as I do.


News For People: What can people expect from your new music video for "Only You"?


Asha: I would just say expect to be amazed. Its nothing like you’ve seen in awhile & I don’t want to say too much, because the video will definitely speak for itself, but It’s a vibe for sure. It was shot, edited and choreographed all by Fullout Cortland of course!

News For People: Are you planing to release a project anytime soon?


Asha: I actually have been working on my project for about a year now so it’s definitely coming soon! I’m so excited for this journey.


News For People: Do you have any upcoming shows planned in the future?


Asha: I actually don’t have any shows planned at the moment, however i am in the process of looking for some shows to be apart of so I can start performing, networking and promoting my single. Who knows maybe I’ll even put on my own show one of these days.


News For People: Do you see yourself collaborating with any artist currently in the music industry?


Asha: Definitely! There are so many amazing artists I would love to collaborate with but to name a few I would chooseChris brown, Lizzo, Khalid, King combs, Kehlani, big Sean, and so many more!

News For People: What advice would you give to a singer who is also continuing their journey in the music industry?


Asha: I would just say stay true to yourself. Everyone’s going to have an opinion on your music or your sound or your appearance, but stick to what you feel is you or you’ll never be happy always trying to please everyone else.


News For People: What else can people expect from you in the music industry?


Asha: Expect the unexpected! I love surprises so you’ll never know what I’m up to until it’s time to reveal, but I’m only getting started! I definitely feel some amazing things coming and I’m just so grateful to be able to make music I love and share it with the world.


News For People: Do you have a final message that you would like to add?


Asha: My final message would just be to follow your dreams, but keep God first in whatever you’re doing. It’s so easy to get caught up into material things in this world, but if you focus on him you will win and everything attached to you will win! His vision for us is so much bigger than our own and in order to manifest our goals & dreams, we need him.




34 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page