top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Autumn Jeannette Talks Connection With Her Audience In Music, And The Concepts Of Her Material

Updated: Oct 24, 2020

It's more than music for Singer/Songwriter Autumn Jeannette when she releases a new single. Her purpose in the music business is to also build a connection with her audience which inspired the release of her latest single "Drunk Texting."


Simultaneously, Jeannette's single is considered suitable for her EP release entitled 'Bad Decisions." Jeannette's mindset of connecting with her audience is an effective strategy for herself and people who connects with her but overall Jeannette's love for music is her main motivation to continuously elevate in music.

Check out Jeannette's interview below where she details her EP release 'Bad Decisions,' including her single 'Drunk Texting,' connecting with her audience through her music, and much more:


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?


Autumn Jeannette: I always wanted to pursue a career in music, and I knew that I would do it one day when I was a little girl. But it wasn't until I was probably around 13 years old when I was asleep and my best friend called me a million times and woke me up, saying, "you have to audition for this girl group. You have to do it. The addition is on Instagram. You need to post right now!" It was like three in the morning on a school night. I literally posted up the video with the rollers in my hair, looking crazy in my pajamas, looking all crazy, singing, and they ended up choosing me to be a part of the group. I believe I was 14 by the time it became official. I was in the group and I was an official member. That group is called We R Charm. I was 14 years old when I became a professional performer, singer/songwriter.


News For People: What do you want people to know about your music?


Autumn Jeannette: I want people to know that I write every song. I feel like that's something that isn't very common nowadays. A lot of people do have songwriters. There's nothing wrong with that but I want people to know that I write every song. I'm also super involved in vocal production and just the entire overall sound of the song.


I write music to try to connect with others because I know that I'm not the only person who is going through what I'm going through and it helps me to feel like I'm not alone when people like my music but also I hope that I can make people feel like they have a friend... They have somebody out there who understands their points of view, who understands how they feel and understands what they're going through. I hope my music can convey that.


News For People: How do you plan to release music differently from other R&B artists?


Autumn Jeannette: One thing that I'm very into is film. I'm actually a film major. I really want to bring my love for music and film together one day and really create a musical film... A musical type of visual that's different from an actual musical but something very cinematic. I really want to combine my love for those two mediums and bring them together.


News For People: How has the response been since the release of your project "Bad Decisions"?


Autumn Jeannette: I've had a great response. I've had a lot of new listeners... A lot of people reaching out and saying that they love the music. A lot of people tell me that they love each one of the songs which is fascinating to me because most of the times there's one or two favorites, maybe three but this time everybody loves the entire project.


I'm so thankful and grateful for that and I also love that people love DJ Noble as well. I have to give him his props because nothing would've been possible without him and he really, really, really, really is super talented and he just brought this whole thing to life and I can't thank him enough for that. #ThankYouDJNoble


News For People: What do you want people to know about your released single "Drunk Texting"?


Autumn Jeannette: I want people to know that they were involved in the creation of that song because they picked the name. I put out a poll on twitter to see what the next song I write should be called and gave them four different options. They picked "Drunk Texting."


I really want people to know that I wrote that song because of them and also I want people to be able to picture that story in their head of "I was at the club, I was having fun, I was lit and then I came home and I was a little lonely. I was a little drunk and I started texting and doing things, making bad decisions."


Hence the name of the project. Making a very bad decision that I'll probably regret and I know so many people can relate to that because being a college student, my friends go through this all the time. This is for them.


News For People: Who are some of your influences in R&B music?


Autumn Jeannette: I grew up listening to a lot of Michael Jackson a lot of New Edition, a lot of Tina Marie, a lot of Mariah Carey, Alicia Keys because that's what my parents listened to.


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey in the music industry?


Autumn Jeannette: I think, honest to God, my motivation is that I love it because I wouldn't do it if I didn't love it. It's a lot of work. It's really, really hard and I simply would not put worth the energy if I didn't love it so much and I feel everybody is like that because you see other people who are working jobs and they can't just put forth that energy and that passion into it because they're not passionate about it.


I think anything becomes easy when you love to do it and it's worth the investment, worth the time and the energy when you love it.


News For People: What other plans do you have for the music industry that people can expect?


Autumn Jeannette: I definitely want to start putting out more music videos. I want people to be able to see my face. I want people to know who I am. Definitely going to start being more social on social media because again I want people to relate to me and to know myself as a personality beyond just the music... Beyond just the voice and I really am planning on showcasing that more in the future.


I want to start writing for bigger names. I want to start learning how to produce. I want to have my hands in every single pot and learn about it and just be a sponge and soak it all up because, to me, that is how you make the best art.


Art is when you know what your talking about but also you can outsource certain tasks like if I know about production but I still wanna work with a producer, I can communicate with him or her and be able to better communicate my visions and to be able to allow them to communicate with me because I know what they're talking about. Definitely wanna be sponge.


News For People: What advice would you have for a young artist pursuing a career in music?


Autumn Jeannette: I would say to not give up. I would say you literally never know what's gonna happen, how it's gonna happen and who's gonna make it happen. Support the people who support you. Don't ever be larger than life and boogie and burn too many bridges unless they're worth burning.


What I'm saying is don't ever make anybody feel small. Even if you are big, don't make people feel small. Do the opposite, make people feel like family and include people in your success. If they help you, help them. What goes around, comes around.


News For People: Anything you would like to add?


Autumn Jeannette: Never give up on your dreams and when you're young, this is the time to chase your dreams with no remorse. Don't let anybody tell you that you can't do what you wanna do.


Somebody once told me, 'God gave you the vision, he didn't give it to them. He gave it to you and that's for a reason. He wants you to see it so you can go get it.' There's gonna be people who don't believe it can happen but that has nothing to do with you.


Follow Autumn Jeannette on Instagram and Twitter: @TheyFall4Autumn



47 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page