top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Caleya Black Talks Why She Doesn't Want Fame In Music And Her Upcoming Single 'Thing About Love'

With a strong passion for music, New Jersey Singer Caleya Black has a different perspective on how she wants to pursue a career as an artist rather then compromise the idea of going after fame and fortune.


She realized her career at a young age when Caleya wrote lyrics for a group which she joined. However, the artist has officially went after her goal as a singer when she attended college. Now, she's motivated to elevate for the love of music.


It is well documented of her decision to start her career as a singer. In addition, Caleya has considered to improvise with another genre to ensure that the idea of her style in music remains true.


Check out Caleya's interview below as she discussed not seeking fame, 'Thing About Love,' and how she includes Gospel music to her craft:


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?

Caleya Black: At a young age, I always had a love for music. I started off singing and playing piano in the church. In elementary school, I was apart of a girl group (we only performed at school events lol) and was writing songs for the group. It wasn't until college that I began thinking of music as something that I would want to make a career of.


News For People: How would you describe your music? 


Caleya Black: I would describe my music as nostalgic and emotive. My music has an old school feel. As a consumer of music, I always listen to the lyrics of a song as well as the emotion behind them. That's what I try to accomplish with my music. My hope is that when people listen to my music they are able to connect in some way. 


News For People: What would you want people to know about you as an artist?

 

Caleya Black: I'm not seeking fame. Although fame may be a byproduct of having a music career, I just really love music. I'm also a wife, mother, and a proud Jersey girl! 


News For People: Who are some of your influences in r&b music? 


Caleya Black: Some of my musical influences include Sade, Whitney Houston, and Smokey Robinson. As a child, I was always surrounded by soul music, especially with my grandmother. She is the one who introduced me to the likes of Sam Cooke, Ruth Brown, and also the Motown Sound.

 

News For People: What are some of your inspirations that you include in your music? 


Caleya Black: Love and relationships is the primary subject of my music. As a woman, I have experienced some heartbreak and great love. I also draw from the experiences of others to create music. At the end of the day, we all go through the same things. That's why I believe its important to be as transparent as possible in my songwriting, because you never know who may need to hear about that partner who cheated or that friend who you secretly wish could be more. I believe the listener will find comfort in knowing they are not alone in the things they are going through or may have experienced.


News For People: What are your thoughts on the current status of  r&b music?


Caleya Black: R&B music has definitely evolved over the years. I believe we are missing some of the "feeling" from mainstream R&B. Seems that R&B is adopting more of a "hip hop" sound, and that's okay. It's not necessarily the sound I'm going for with my music, but there is an audience for it. On the contrary, there is also an audience out there full of people who are craving that soul that R&B used to overflow with. That is the audience I'd like to cater to. There are still artists out there who are upholding the R&B roots such as HER, Ari Lennox, Major, etc.  


News For People: How do you plan to release music differently from other r&b artists?


Caleya Black: I'm not necessarily aiming to be different from anyone as far as releasing music goes. I do believe in strategy and timing. I don't want to rush to put music out just so that I can say I have music out. I only want to release music that I believe in and can really get behind.  


News For People: What can people expect from your upcoming single "Thing About Love"?


Caleya Black: I believe the message of "Thing About Love" should resonate with a lot of people out there. The song has a soulful vibe, smooth harmonies, and the production has a modern sound.


News For People: What makes your upcoming single "Thing About Love" different from your latest single "Still Loves?"

 

Caleya Black: The two songs explore different stages in a relationship. "Still Loves" deals with coming to terms with infidelity in a long-term relationship. "Thing About Love" is the AHA moment, when we realize the person we have invested our time and energy in is not capable of reciprocating that. 


News For People: Are you working on any other upcoming projects that people can expect?


Caleya Black: Well, this quarantine has definitely allowed me time to really sit down and write - focus on music. I'm also working with a producer who has worked with Eric Benet, Bobby Valentino, and Lyfe Jennings - you should expect to hear some of that music sooner than later. 


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey in the music industry?


Caleya Black: All the work and time i've put in motivates me to keep going. I've come too far to stop now. 


News For People: What message do you hope people receive from you as an artist in the music industry?


Caleya Black: I hope people feel who I am as a person. I hope that it comes across in the songs that I sing, how I interact with people, and also how I carry myself on social media.  


News For People: With gospel roots, do you have plans on ways to utilize the knowledge of gospel into your music?  


Caleya Black: Gospel music is all about the message as well as feeling the conviction of the person singing. This is what I try to incorporate in my music. Even though I'm pursuing an R&B career, I could never neglect who gospel music is all about. That is why I post both gospel and R&B on my social media. That is who I am. I am a child of God who likes to sing about love :) 

News For People: What advise would you give to a young r&b artist who is also perusing a career in music?

 

Caleya Black: My advice would be to network. I think networking and building relationships, without expecting anything in return, is one of the most important things i've learned since pursuing a music career. I would also advise them to not let those who don't understand their vision deter them. Keep your focus on the goal! 


Do you have any plans prepared in the music industry that people can expect after quarantine?


Caleya Black: No major plans at this time, just continuing to perfect my craft, do more live shows, and really hone in on the songwriting side as well.


News For People: Anything else you would like to add?


Caleya Black: Be on the lookout for "Thing About Love" which will be available on all streaming platforms on May 22nd. Also, our world is going through some drastic changes right now, and I'd just like to encourage those who may read this to not lose hope. We will get through this together! I'd also like to thank you for taking the time to speak with me.



109 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page