top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

D. Ave Talks 90s Mindset, 'First Sexsion' Single And New Music

With a 90s sound that he provides in music, R&B artist D. Ave has his mind set to ensure that his name is marked in the music industry. D. Ave's 90s mindset is recognized through his latest single "First Sexsion," where he strongly utilized his voice. However, he's way far from over in music.


There's a lot more plans that D. Ave have which already includes new music and when it comes to new music, D. Ave is currently working to release music in the spring or summer.

Before his release, check out D. Ave's interview where he discussed 'First Sexsion' single, new music and more!


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?


D. Ave: Music has been apart of my life for generations. I’ve been singing since I’ve been able to talk!


News For People: How would you describe your music?


D. Ave: If I had to categorize it, I would call it “smooth Rnb”. It’s reminiscent of late 90s Donell Jones, Joe, and Jon B with a modern day feel.


News For People: What would you want people to know about you as an artist?


D. Ave: I want people to know that I’m adamant about bringing the Rnb sound that we’re use to back to the forefront.


News For People: Who are some of your influences in r&b music?


D. Ave: Influences include Donell Jones, Jaheim, Joe, Musiq Soulchild.


News For People: What are some of your inspirations that you include in your music?


D. Ave: I write about some of my personal experiences in addition to experiences that others have been through. Overall, most of us have been through similar experiences, so I just try to bring those to light in my upcoming project.


News For People: What are your thoughts on the current status of r&b music?


D. Ave: I think there is a new wave of Rnb, which means there is something for everyone. Overall I think it’s in good hands with the likes of Tiffany Gouche, SIR, Eric Bellinger, BJ The Chicago Kid, H.E.R, etc. Hopefully someone includes me in that category in the near future.

7. I think we all pretty much have the same goal in mind when releasing R&B music. I’m not sure if my music is considered different or not, but I plan to continue writing what’s on my mind at the moment.


News For People: What was the inspiration behind your latest single "First Sexsion?


D. Ave: “First SeXsion” came about when I was talking to a group of friends about, you know, the first time. I wanted to relay some of the things we discussed during that conversation.


News For People: Are you working on a project that people can expect?


D. Ave: I’m currently working on a project titled, “It’s Called L.O.V.E” which will be out sometime early Spring/Summer.


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey in the music industry?


D. Ave: I’m motivated by passion with hopes that the right person will hear it and spread the word.


News For People: What message do you hope people recieve from you as an artist in the music industry?


D. Ave: I hope that people connect with me on a personal level and moved enough to continue supporting!


News For People:Although quarantine continues, are there strategies for artists to keep their supporters entertained, in your opinion?


D. Ave: I think there are a few things you can do to keep supporters engaged such as being active on social media and posting general content to keep them wanting more.


News For People: What advise would you give to a young r&b artist who is also perusing a career in music?


D. Ave: I would tell them to stay the course! Keep an eye out for people that will try to take advantage of you being an aspiring artists. Also, make sure you network as much as possible because most of the time it’s about who you know.


News For People: Do you have any plans prepared in the music industry that people can expect after quarantine?


D. Ave: Outside of the project, I plan to release two visuals. Additionally, I’m working on my younger sisters project, which will be out later this year.


News For People: Is there anything else you would like to add?


D. Ave: I would like to thank you for the opportunity. It’s definitely a confidence booster when someone recognizes your artistry!


229 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page