top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Denicia Hamilton Details The Meaning Of Her 'Lifeline' EP, Tru Strands Business And Her Next Move

Updated: Dec 31, 2021

Pursuing a double career is a lot but R&B artist Denicia Hamilton broke through challenges to ensure that both her careers remains in tact, and as a result she has achieved goals in both directions.


At this point in her career, Hamilton has released her "Lifeline" ep, which delivers an impactful message. Additionally, she runs her own hair extension services where Hamilton's hair business services, entitled "Tru Strands," has received a lot of responses based on customer services.


It's a challenge. However, with an organized mindset, Hamilton is prepared to tackle any wall that stands before her and continue to elevate.


Check out Hamilton's interview below where she discussed the meaning behind her "Lifeline" project, her hair extensions business "Tru Strands" and much more:


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?


Denicia Hamilton: I've always been passionate about music. Singing and performing. Music was apart of my family growing up. I sang in church and I was in a choir. I began to take the craft seriously around 15, 16 and from there I started doing a lot of writing and recording here and there.


News For People: What would you want people to know about you as an artist?


Denicia Hamilton: I want people to know that my music is an extension of me and who I am. I'm working hard to showcase my talent as an entertainer and I pray that my music can reach the world in a special way.


News For People: What are some inspirations you include in your music?


Denicia Hamilton: I love live instrumentation. I feel like it brings a refreshing sound to any song.


News For People: What was the process like for you as an artist to put together "Lifeline" ep?


Denicia Hamilton: Creating "Lifeline was not a piece of cake. The process slowed down a lot when the pandemic started but aside from that creating a sound for me was important and you know that can't be rushed. The camp that I worked with, they're called "Those Guys" located in Atlanta, they helped me with styles until we found something that we felt was for me, and all and all that took almost took two years to complete "Lifeline."


News For People: How did the idea of "Lifeline" single come together?


Denicia Hamilton: My team and I always planned for "Lifeline" to be a single.


News For People: What was the inspiration behind your single "Lifeline"?


Denicia Hamilton: "Lifeline" is a powerful single where I'm venting about the roadblocks and emotions that I've experienced as an artist. The meaning behind the song is so important to me because a lot of rejections and you know nay-sayers comes with trying to break into this industry and there were times when I felt pressured to be something that didn't really reflect who I truly am, and even therough all of that negativity, I still kept pushing harder and I still keep pushing harder and harder and "Lifeline" explains that perfectly which is why that's what the project is entitled.


News For People: Do you have any upcominmg projects that your working on at the moment?


Denicia Hamilton: We are currently working on a visual for my first single "Heartbreak Melody" which was released sometime in June. I'm so excited for that so I can showcase theatrical side, definitely something to look out for.


News For People: What's the purpose of your business service "Tru Strands"?


Denicia Hamilton: "Tru Strands" is my hair company. We provide raw hair extensions and we also offer affordable payment methods. I created "Tru strands" the mindset to catering black women, and those who desire to enhance their trust with quality weave. We really focus on providing exceptional customer service along with high quality hair extensions.


News For People: What impact does "Tru Strand" have in the community?


Denicia Hamilton: I feel like hair and beauty has always been important in the black community. We're alway setting trends and 'Tru Strands" is just one many hair companies that sells hair extensions. What sets us aside is that we get to provide exceptional customer service on with quality hair extensions and we provide hair extensions that mimics natural course of hair texture. It's ok to embrace our texture and the value of weave at the sametime.


News For People: What are your hopes for "Tru Strands" services?


Denicia Hamilton: I hope that my company can expand in products, and continue to grow.


News For People: Considering that your working on a double career, as an artist and businesswoman, what is the experience like for you to work on both careers?


Denicia Hamilton: It definitely can be challenging. Most times I found myself giving more energy to my music career because that's my first love, and it takes a lot of investment there things that goes with trying to make it in this industry and therefore that kind of puts me in lack of marketing into "Tru strands." Thankfully I have a pretty stable cliental that trust me so organization plays a huge role.


News For People: Are there any artists who you would like to collaborate with in the near future?


Denicia Hamilton: Ofcourse, just to name a few, Stevie Wonder, Her, Rick Ross.


News For People: What advise do you have for an artist who's also pursuing a career in music?


Denicia Hamilton: Always be true to yourself and don't give up no matter what they numbers looks like or followed, whatever. Because I know times has changed and everything is like number driven. Keep doing you because hard work triumphs everything.


News For People: What else can people expect from you in music and "Tru-Strands"?


Denicia Hamilton: Definitely be on the look out for more music. I'm ready to create more material that I can show a different lighter side of me, and "Tru Strands" will continue to grow and we'll diversify our products in specific needs.


News For People: Anything else you would like to add?


Denicia Hamilton: Thank you so much for this opportunity!



38 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page