top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Isa Marina Talks Aspects Of Being A Diverse Artist, And The Importance Of Commitment In Music

Updated: May 14, 2020

There's not one distraction that will stop Latin Singer Isa Marina as she takes her career real serious, and it definitely shows as she takes on strategies, like the idea to portray herself as a diverse artist, There'sin the music business.


Marina ensures that her journey in music will continue considering that she refuses to let anyone tell her different about the industry. In addition, she's fully committed to claim her spot in the business as a singer.


As a result of her mindset, she hopes that young inspired artists takes on her mission as their own motivation to be a success in music.

Check out Isa Marina's interview below as she discussed a combination of her inspirations, her latest single "Como la Flor," being a diverse artist, and much more.


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music? 


Isa Marina: I was super young – 5 years old. I’d always loved to sing and perform, and I’d always been in choral and choir groups in church and school. I literally always knew that that was my path no matter what.

News For People: How would you describe your music?  


Isa Marina: A sweet marriage between Urban Pop and Latin music.

News For People: What would you want people to know about you as an artist


Isa Marina: That I am committed to my craft and take my career very seriously.

News For People: Who are some of your influences in Latin music? 


Isa Marina: There are so many, but here is a condensed list: Selena Quintanilla, Lola Flores, Isabel Pantoja, Hector Lavoe, the list goes on and on.

News For People: What are some of your inspirations that you include in your music?  


Isa Marina: You can heavily hear Aaliyah’s, Mariah Carey’s, and Selena’s influence in my music and performance style. I can’t help it even if I tried. I love harmonies and the upper falsetto range of my voice; I love to belt and sing with passionate vocal growls (LOL).

News For People: What are your thoughts on the current status of Latin music? 


Isa Marina: It’s evolving and growing so rapidly. It’s a beautiful thing to witness – it’s being embraced so much more on a global level.

News For People: How do you plan to release music differently from other artists? 


Isa Marina: Not too differently, because most ideas have already been done (LOL). But definitely with my own unique, strategic, and special touch.

News For People: What was the inspiration behind your latest single "Como La Flor?" 


Isa Marina: Ever since I was a little girl, Como la Flor has always been my favorite Selena Quintanilla cover to perform (her live version at the Astrodome gave me chills then; still does now). I would literally jump out of my seat every time I'd see her perform on Don Francisco to try and imitate her; I'd put on my lil' white patent leather shoes (LOL) and sing on my karaoke machine mic. Throughout the past year, my band and I incorporated the song into our live setlist, and people absolutely go crazy for it. No matter how big or small the audience, no matter the venue, the city - people have so much love for Como la Flor. 

News For People: Are you working on a project that people can expect?


Isa Marina: I'm definitely releasing new music, so please stay tuned for that! I also look forward to connecting with my audience on Youtube more (stay tuned for more vlogs).

News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey in the music industry? 


Isa Marina: My music, my band, my collaborators. The natural fire that lives within me to create and share. It’s impossible for me to stop creating.

News For People: What message do you hope people receive from your music as an artist in the industry? 


Isa Marina: I hope they are inspired and motivated by my music and my testimony.

News For People: Would you describe yourself as a diverse artist, considering the release of both your singles "No Grey" and the cover of "Como La Flor?" 


Isa Marina: Definitely! I have a really diverse musical background – having studied Opera and singing in multiple languages (Spanish, Italian, and French). As well as earlier on in my career having experimented with EDM sounds and Doo-wop styled songs. But I’ve definitely finally found my sound which lives within a mid-point of Urban Pop and Latin music.

News For People: What advice would you give to a young artist who is also pursuing a career in music? 


Isa Marina: Never give up. This has been said time and time again, but it’s true. You cannot give up – never let anyone or anything deter you from your dreams and goals. Good things are worth waiting and fighting for.

News For People: Do you have any plans prepared in the music industry that people can expect after quarantine? 


Isa Marina: I can’t share those secrets just yet – but I will soon!

News For People:Is there anything else you would like to add? 


Isa Marina: You can listen to my latest music release, the True Colors EP here: https://www.smarturl.it/IsaMarinaTrueColors as well as my “Como la Flor” cover: https://www.smarturl.it/IsaMarinaComoLaFlor. Stay tuned and follow me on all social media: @iamisamarina



11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page