top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Jamesse Details How He's Different From Other Artists In R&B Music 

Updated: Dec 9, 2019

There's nothing duplicated about Jamesse's ability as a singer to ensure powerful vocals, and lyrics that represents real scenarios. With a unique combination of Jamesse's material, his mind is set to make a difference in music.

In addition to his vision of R&B music, people are getting more familiar with his work as an artist especially after his music video release for his latest single entitled "Let It Out," but there's no limit to this singer and Jamesse revealed that he has a lot more to bring as a R&B artist who is determined to release true music.

Check out Jamesse's Interview below where he details how R&B music started to change and how he plans to bring the Genre back to it's highest mark in music:

News For People: When did you decide to become an R&B singer?

Jamesse: Honestly, I spent a long time in soul, pop music since I was a kid, and one of my ways of getting out of my own situation. When I got to college around 18 or 19, that's when I decided to pursue it but then after about two or three years I decided to put on a hip hop professional side on. I graduated an entrepreneur, and then after about two years, I was only doing music two years professionally. I decided it's time to do it how I wanna do it. So it's been an ongoing journey for like the last 14 years.

News For People: What makes your music stand out from other artists?

Jamesse: It's soul man. One, I can actually sing. Most R&B artists we have nowadays, no disrespect to each one's craft, but a lot of people aren't singing anymore. People are talking through records. They don't take the time to be vocal. They don't take the time to perfect their voice. They have people writing for them, and I think that I have a genuine sound. It's a different sound. It's old but new. I had someone once say, "hearing you sing is kind of timeless," because I can easily go back to three years and try to do this, and probably do it three years from now. I can probably bring a more genuine sounds to today's modern music. It's really worth it. If you look at R&B charts on the billboards, if you look at the R&B billboard top 100, you can probably find real R&B singers. Most of them are rappers at this point. So R&B is in a dying feel for a long time. I think that genuine music can really bring it back.

News For People: How has people responded to your music in terms f how you sing genuine?

Jamesse: It's been a great response. I never really would've imagined that I would have followers globally. I've always imagined doing music but when you actually start to receive feedback globally, it's pretty amazing. When I was in the industry early on, I did a lot of media work. I was the editor of Hype Magazine, music editor, all the good stuff. So I got the opportunity to kind of work behind the scenes. I had interviews with Pharrell Williams of Nerd back in the day, John Legend, Young Dro, and watching them, hearing their story, hearing their struggle, hearing what they went through really inspired me to kind of revenuer a different way. The responses have been great. I love all fans, it's been great.

News For people: Knowing your position, how you see music today, what motivates you to keep going in the music industry?

Jamesse: Honestly, it's just in me. When you have something in you that you've been gifted with it's really up to you if you want to decide to share with the world or keep it to yourself. I prefer to share with the world because I feel I have something to say, I have something to offer... to listen to real R&B music. It's not for everybody. That's ok but I think that if everybody took a minute to listen to just genuine music in 2019, I think they can open it back up. I want to share my gift now and to help as many people as I can along the way.

News For people: Are you working on any projects at the moment?

Jamesse: Not right now. My PR firm has arranged a music tour. I've put out two eps and I've put out seven videos which is really hard for a genuine artist to do especially after quality that we've reached. I'm really proud of it. I've been working with some amazing people to put the last couple of records together like Stroud and Champ, and they work with Grand Hustle studios in Atlanta. They're T.I.'s team. They're the ones who help me record all the music. We had a great writer, Candice Mimms . She really helped write most of the songs. I wanted to package myself as an artist to create the package of genuine music because again I'm rearranging at this point. Now it's time to just keep getting it out there. I'm working with Power Deal Press Media, and their doing a great job writing press tour.

News For People: Who are some of your influences in R&B music, and furthermore, who would you like to collaborate with in the future?

Jamesse: I value a lot of people. I'm more of a new age type person. I love the vocal artists that are doing it now; Pink is one of my all time favorites. I think she's one of the most underrated artists in the entire industry. I love old school; I love Luther Vandross. I love India Irie. A little bit of old school. A little bit of new school. I'm a huge fan of Drake. I'm a huge fan of The Weeknd. As long as it sounds good, I might just take a listen. I wanna be me. I'm not trying to compete with anyone. I'm not trying to sound like anyone. I think influences comes naturally because we literally, as human beings, put out what we take in. So I think I'm a sum of everything I've experienced...everything I've herd, and everyone I've worked with. I'm just a sum of experiences.

News For People: How is the atmosphere when performing on stage as an independent artist?

Jamesse: I love it. As an independent artist, you always have that people you connect with in every show. Ive been fortunate enough to have really great shows where I've received really great responses from people. I love performing. It's one of my favorite things to do. I think giving your sound to the world, just as long as you can, is something really powerful and unique about being a performer, and so I think it's been great overall.

News For People: Are you working on new music momentarily?

Jamesse: I'm actually going to record again sometime in December or January but I just released an ep within the last three months. I just released an ep called "Judgement Day" within the last three months so definitely go check it out. Before that, I just released "Spectrum" which just came out a couple months before that. So the press is just making sure their ears are on the content that I have and i'm definitely going to be working on music. They can find it on all digital media outlet; Apple, Google, iTunes, Spotify. If they want links, they can go to my website;

News For People: How would you describe your single "Let It out" as a reflection of you as a person?

Jamesse: I think it's more of an experience. It's about being with someone and your encouraging to completely be themselves, and to be completely honest, and I think that theirs different types of relationships that sits as standards. The reason my album was called "Judgement Day" is because every song has something to do with the pursuit of truth. It's about encouraging people, and your partner or your lover or whatever. So just be honest. I think it makes us better human beings.

News For People: What advise would you give to other independent artists who are also pursuing a career in R&B music?

Jamesse: Never stop, I would say be open. Be authentic, embrace who you are. Be open to different experiences and collaborations because you never know who's watching you. Get to know the business beyond your artistry. Music is more than just notes on keyboard, and tone. It's about business, and if your doing it just because you love to do it, and just do it because you love to do it. If you want to take your career somewhere, you have to have a plan.

News For People: What else can people expect from you as a R&B singer?

Jamesse: Just collaboration, I never had anyone collaborate on a project. I wanted people to authentically know means not just open the door because of clout. I wanted to do it on my own. I wanted people to hear me say hey this is who Jamesse is, all the big features I can get. Definitely getting out to more cities. I'm a huge pop fan. I really want to get into more acoustic pop sound. Keep R&B but just be pop in general. Just more videos, collaborations, and just taking it from there. It's really about my life, my journey, my music. It's really about who I am so you can understand my music.

News For People: Do you have a final message you would like to add?

Jamesse: It's about love, life, and truth. I want to spread as much as I can.

23 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page