top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Lashonda Schofield Details Her Style Of Music And Shares Her Thoughts On Today's R&B

Updated: Jan 15, 2020

With her mind set on 80s and 90s R&B music, Singer/Songwriter Lashonda Schofield is strongly motivated to bring the style of classical music back as she has suitable connections followed by multiple team members in her record label.

Before running her own record label, Schofield faced a few obstacles, one of which includes working with her former manager before parting ways but that didn't stop Schofield from continuously chasing after her goals.

Check Out Schofield's Interview Below Where Opens Up about What Motivated Her To Start a Record Label, And New Music That She's Releasing With A Major Artist.

News For People: When did you decide to make music apart of your career?


Lashonda Schofield: I decided to make it apart of my career when I was 19 years old. So at the age of 19, I was being managed by a famous Flautist, Bobbi Humphrey. She's responsible for a number of hits but I think her most notable hit is "Harlem River Drive," and she decided to manage me. I believe she saw something in me at the time and, you know, she wanted manage me as an artist. It wasn't until like 2011 when I really got into songwriting, and I started just doing my catalog of songs and to make a decision as a singer/songwriter, I just could not wait for someone to put me on. I started my own record label, and I just started writing, and creating songs. Recently, I joined Tasha LaRae of Arrested Development. She's putting out a solo project of her own, and we just started collaborating with each other, and wrote five amazing songs that she's featuring on her project, and I just made the decision that I'm gonna put myself out there so in 2018 I released two songs; "Washed Up Man," and "My Rhythm, My Blues," and that was just the beginning.


News For People: As a young artist who recently started in the music industry, what is the one thing that you want people to know about your music?


Lashonda Schofield: I like really catchy lyrics that are very descriptive, and tell stories. My songs are teachable moments. A lot of my songs will take you through a lot of emotions, but at the same time, it's food for the soul. I try to give people things that they can relate to but also things that will make them laugh or make them reflect or will make them fall in love. I try to create a story that people can grab a hold on to because they can relate to it.


News For People: What do you think of te current status of R&B music today?


Lashonda Schofield: I would say, we got away from traditional song writing. A lot of it is really more about the beat, and just coming up with what I would call 'one-liner.' We've gotten away from song-writing unfortunately, and I would like to see more song-writing, more artists take the time, and really understand, and learn the craft of song-writing because I hear a lot of people say tat they're just really tired of the same track being sent, you know, the one-liner or their aren't many verses, and the songs that don't have bridges. I think people are really just hungry and thirsty for something that's real and can give them an experience that they live out in their day-to-day lives.


News For People: You mentioned earlier about your own record label where you launched it back in 2011. Tell us a little bit more about your record label, and what do you attend to bring to the table in R&B music with your record label?


Lashonda Schofield: It's called "3OH!9 Music Group," and the soul purpose of that was to create a platform, not only for myself as an artist, but also for other artists. My goal was always to create opportunities, and have a platform for other musicians, and artists to publish music, and also for them to write songs for television as well as for stage plays. I want to utilize my music and from there bring in other artists to help. I have interest that are near and dear to me. So, just continue to support those, and growing.


News For People: Do you ave any artists who are signed to your record label at the moment or is it so far just you bringing more notification of your record label to the public?


Lashonda Schofield: Right now, I'm the lead-featured artist of the record label since it's brand new. It's just me for the moment but I am actively looking for other artists that I can take on, and as well as other song-writers. I do have a team of producers that I work with but I'll like to branch, and have enough of song-writers that I can take under my wing, and teach them the mechanics of creating hit potential songs. Really it's the public who decides which is a hit or not.


News For People: It's understandable that you also worked with other artists like Ryan Toby of R&B Group 'City High,' and legendary song-writer Joseph Jefferson. What was it like to be in associates with him?


Lashonda Schofield: Ohhh, Joseph Jefferson, I met him through a mutual friend of my dad. He was a Quiet Storm DJ from Richmond, Virginia through Mitch Malone, and I will tell you, first of all, I grew up listening to "One Of A Kind," and "Love Affairs," and "Brandy." I grew up listening to these hit songs and I was like Oh my gosh. I need to really listen, and like to sponge off of this person because they have walk the walk, and they know the pitfalls, and the successes. I valued that time. It's still with me today. It was just a great opportunity to be in the presence with someone like that, and to also receive the accolade from someone who's been in the game for that amount of time... Just to hear him say 'Your on the right track,' 'Keep doing what your doing,' was so inspirational to me, and so valuable. We keep in touch here and there but during those days I'm just taking it all in. It was an amazing time.


News For People: Speaking of artists who you've worked with, you also mentioned earlier that your working with Tasha LaRae to create her upcoming EP. What more can you tell the public about the upcoming EP that your working on with her?

Lashonda Schofield: It's super dope. Their deep soul-house songs, and she and I got together and we were speaking the same song-writer language. she's an amazing artist, and an amazing songwriter. I like to think that the songs that we created are feel good, dance music and positive affirmation messages that are just gonna be good for your soul. We have this song called "Clarity," and "Clarity" to me is just one of those anthems that I like to listen to but I know that my prayers is that it would resonate with the mass audience because it's just a song that uplifts and gives you that extra push when you feel like you don't have the answers or you can't seem to find your way. "Clarity" is just one of those songs that just takes you to a place of peace. We just wanted to create positive music. We just wanted to come up with songs that are timeless that would help to heal the heart and mind but to also make you feel good.There's a lot of african rhythmic, I'm excited. Her project comes out November 1st, and it's actually an LP. She really did 13 songs, and I believe we have four songs, together, out of the 13 and I can't wait. It's gonna be an amazing ride.


News For People: It's also understandable that you also worked with playwrights for your licensed stage productions; what else can you say about your partnership with playwrights?

Lashonda Schofield: That's super cool too. I have a lot of playwright contacts in the Dallas area. I love Dallas because of the playwrights, active community. It's like this close family. Everyone knows each other. Everyone looks out for each other. Everyone collaborates, and just cross brand on each other's projects, and I had the opportunity to get to know a lot of the playwrights, the actors, and actresses up there. We find opportunities to cross collaborate. There's one playwright, his name Corta Ishma, and he's an amazing talent. He's a playwright. He's also a filmmaker, and I've had some opportunities to cross-collaborate with him, and cross acting for his indies films. I love stage plays for that because you have a lot a freedom when your creating for that particular platform.


News For people: Do you feel that working with playwrights definitely helps you get inspired to write more music?


Lashonda Schofield: Oh yeah, because you have a person tell you what your going to write about. Sometimes you don't have a full treatment but you'll have a scene or two, and you utilize that information to write. Or you may have a song in your catalog already that fits that occasion. You're able to listen to what they need and determine from there You can utilize for a particular scene.


News For People: How Did you earn the nickname "Dat Gurl?"


Lashonda Schofield: It was given to me by a gospel artist name Lamont Sanders. He and I worked on some songs. He's from South Jersey. We were just sitting around getting ready to have a writing session, and he was like "You know, you need a nickname." I was like, "I do?" He was like, Yeah. I said, What nickname would you give me? He said, Well, you know, most people aren't going to remember Lashonda. That's too hard for most people. He starts snapping his fingers, You know, I can't remember that girl's name. That girl that writes really good songs. He looks at me and he says, That's it. I said, What? Dat Gurl?" He says,Yup, Lol. So, I been "Dat Gurl" since 2005. I have a logo that I had someone commission and create and it's basically shows that I wear sunglasses, and my lipstick, and with the word, "Dat Gurl" in the middle" of the logo.

News For People: Do you think R&B is slowly coming back to life with new artists or do you feel that there needs to be a push in that genre of that music?


Lashonda Schofield: I just think it needs resurging. I don't think it was ever gone but certainly we've gotten from the traditional structure of R&B. I just think people got to a place where they didn't wanna here a lot of lyrics. They just wanna use these little catchy phrases. I think R&B is just resorting, and rightfully so. I think there's a lot of great musicians and songwriters, and artists that are now bringing their strength and uniqueness to the art form and their just bringing it back. I tell people, I am a hybrid over your favorite 80s and 90s. There was really no genre that was untouched. I listen to country. I listen to jazz. I listen to r&b, classical music, hard rock, but I knew some of the main stream stuff and I try to listen and sponge it all. So when you listen to my music, it's really a hybrid of a lot of different influences, a lot of different styles. The main focus for me is giving you something that is relatable and fun and catchy.


News For People: Would you say that 80s and 90s music keeps you going in the industry?


Lashonda Schofield: Yes, oh my goodness yes, recently I had the pleasure of having a direct message dialog with Joyce Irby of Klymaxx, and to receive an accolade and affirmation from her, a female in the R&B game... I grew up listening to this person, and it's not really about idolizing people to that degree but it's about paying homage, and giving them their due respect. It was just very humbling to hear her say; I love your tone, your doing a great job, keep up the good work.That was priceless. I hope to one day meet her. I made IGTV video on Instagram, and I was like, " I would love to meet you one day, and tell you in person how much you mean so much to me. She sent me a direct message video, and when I opened it I was like Ohh my gosh, she's talking to me. I was like woah! I hit her back, and I was just like; I'm such a fan and thanks for your artistry. Thank you to your contribution in music.Your just empowering me as a woman in the music business.You have no idea what this means to me.You know, I believe that it's very important that you tell the people who mean something to you. You let them know whether they write you back or acknowledge your presence or not.You have a responsibility to let them know and she called me. She said, "that's right." I do the samething with the people who I want to pay homage to. I do the exact something.'"


News For People: Who else do you have in mind to have a collaboration with in the future?


Lashonda Schofield: Well, I would be remised if I didn't say Beyonce. Who doesn't want to collaborate with Beyonce. I would like to song write with her. I think she and I can come up with something really dope and been a fan for a really long time since the Destiny Childs days and it just would seem right to want to work with her. I also would like to work with Adele. I wouldn't mind working with Ella Mai. I wouldn't mind working with Tank, love his work. I'm opened to work with anybody.


News For people: what advice do you have for other R&B singers who wants to persue a career n music?


Lashonda Schofield: The main thing is learn the business because that's fundamental. Secondly, I would definitely say to embrace social media because it has a lot to offer. It's a very big platform for artists. Understanding that targeting your audience is key and putting out content that people are going to connect with and just reliving in yourself. Preparation is knowing the business.


News For People: Is there any final message that you would like to add?


Lashonda Schofield: I would like to say that it's always in my prayers that any song that God blesses me with releasing, that it reach and touch just one person. I got into this business because I wanted to become a commercial songwriter, a commercial singer, but I recognize that the music starts with me but it ends with the people. My goal is to just reach one person. If one person comes up to me and says; hey, you've help me get through this time, or hey this song made me laugh, that's priceless. That is confirmation that I'm doing what God has programed me to do because everyone that's put here on this earth has a purpose. Everyone has a gift that they're given. I believe that I am mainly doing what God has in-structed in my spirit to do. If I can touch one person, I would have done my job here.

48 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page