top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Mandi Rose Discusses The Meaning Behind Her Upcoming EP, And The Strength To Continue Music

Updated: Apr 18, 2020


She's dealt with difficult times in her life, however, Los Angeles singer Mandi Rose found the strength to move forward to work on music, as she's currently working on her Upcoming ep "No Rain No Flowers."


There's no red light positioned before her as Rose has a purpose to continue her journey through music.

Check out Mandi Rose's interview below as she discusses the story of her Upcoming ep "No Rain No Flowers," and pushing through her career as a singer, after the passing of her father.


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?


Mandi Rose: I've always had an infatuation with music & singing ever since I was a kid -  there was always a karaoke machine & a mic growing up around me with a family full of talented musicians.


I'd always sang - in high school I was in my school choir for 4 years - so I always wanted to pursue music. But I started seriously writing music to heal from the loss of my dad & past pain I endured in my life & began recording & releasing my music in 2015 after my dad died on his 44th birthday.


I decided to follow my dreams in memory of my father after he passed in 2014. He always believed in my talent more than I did. So in 2015 I began recording my own music.


News For People: What makes you stand out from other artists in R&B music?


Mandi Rose: I think I am much more than just an R&B singer. I honestly dont like to stick to one genre.

My music taste is as diverse as it comes...


With inspiration from amazing women such as Lauryn hill, Etta James, Billie holiday, Alicia keys, Rihanna, Amy Whinehouse, Adele, Snoh Alegra, Jhene Aiko and so many more ... I pretty much listen to anything I think is good and makes me feel some type of emotion - be it love , loss, hope, or any other emotions.


When I first got in the studio, I finally decided I really can't be afraid of my own potential. I really just started pushing my own buttons and getting out of my comfort zone and finding my confidence & what made me unique. I think what makes me stand out most is how each song I make is so different from the last. I like leaving people on edge and making them feel suprised because nothing's the same.


News For People: Who are some of your influences in R&B music?


Mandi Rose: I could go on for days. In the R&B world I  really respect Aretha, Erykah Badu, DIana Ross, Prince, Bruno Mars, Aaliyah, Alicia Keys, Chris Brown, Justin Timberlake, Frank Ocean, Rihanna, Drake.. The list goes on for days.


News For People: What do you want people to know about your music?


Mandi Rose: I am still learning! Still growing and flourishing. My next project will show so much more about me. It’s very honest, hopeful, and vulnerable. I want to share that with others who may feel the same.


My Mixtape (The introduction) was an experiment for me. I learned alot about what I did and did not want to do. My EP (back for more) was defintely more “mature” with a mix of pop, soul, & R&B. The Production was done by Alex Garcia aka DosUno- who is amazing to say the least. Using the piano, Low yet mellow tempo beats, every track on my EP is a unique intermix of R&B & Soulful Pop. I discuss love, and the ups and downs that can transpire when it comes to having a significant other, and how as a young adult, love can be difficult to figure out. But what I want to show with my next project is how I have grown as a person. I’ve dealt with alot of hardship but I overcame a reall dark place in my life. I’m in a totally different headspace now. This project is going to be sooooo different. People aren’t going to expect it at all.


News For People: What's your thoughts on the current status of R&B music?


Mandi Rose: I have no complaints. I think it’s going great. So many talented artists out there KILLING IT. The industry is changing more and more but I think change is good and it's definitely exciting.


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey as a r&b singer in the music industry?


Mandi Rose: The journey forsure. Inspiring others and having the chance to work on my craft each and every day.


News For People: What is the message behind your latest single "Bout To Ride?"


Mandi Rose: Bout To Ride was written by my good friend Johny Flohs-


News For People: Is there a project that you're working on at the moment?


Mandi Rose: I am working on an EP right now. I have decided to call the project

“No Rain, No Flowers.”


The meaning is simple yet complex. Without rain we wouldn’t have flowers. I believe that the sun will always shine after a storm. Losing my grandmother, my father, my hero growing up (Kobe Bryant), and even some of my childhood friends has shown me how fleeting life can be. Nothing is ever promised and life is fragile. Success and failure are neighbors- you must go through the tough to get to the good. The light will always be there but so will the darkness- you have to choose which to walk toward.


I wanted to die after my dad died… I was extremely down and depressed but I survived and I came out the other side stronger and wiser than I was. I believe that I am still blooming and still growing. That's why I decided on “NO RAIN , NO FLOWERS” as the official title of my next project.


News For People: Do you have any artists who you would like to collaborate with in the music industry someday?


Mandi Rose: There are so many. I would love to collaborate with Phora- I feel like him & I write about alot of the same things and I can really relate to his music.


My dream is to work with Drake, Big Sean, Cole, and Kendrick. I also really want to break into the EDM world and collaborate with my favorite DJ’S - Dillon Francis, Kayzo, Valentino Khan, Calvin Harris, and Diplo.


News For People: What was the experience of meeting Megan "The Stallion" at Power 106 Los Angeles?


Mandi Rose: Oh man, so exciting. I’ve met alot of celebrities- Meg was so humble, kind, and down to earth. She was so much fun to listen to. We are the same age so seeing her journey up to this point and having the ability to listen to her story was a blessing.


News For People: Did you have a discussion with Megan "The Stallion" about collaborating with her?


Mandi Rose: I did not. Of course I would LOVE that. It will happen one day- manifesting that forsure.


News For People: What was the experience of performing live at the Coast 2 Coast event in Los Angeles like for you?


Mandi Rose: I enjoyed performing but I really enjoyed meeting the other artists. I won’t ever be competing in Coast 2 Coast again but It was deifntely an experience.


News For People: Are you scheduled to perform for upcoming events in the near future?


Mandi Rose: As of now I will not be booking any shows until my EP Release. I just want to focus all my energy on getting the music right for my fans.


News For People: What advice would you give to a young R&B artist who is also pursuing their career in music?


Mandi Rose: Dont give up, and stay consistent. Make music that tells YOUR story. Be genuine and don’t ever let the industry change you.


It’s a dog eat dog industry but there are still good people in the industry who are in it for the music. So make sure you dont lose sight of your vision and stay authentic through your journey.


News For People: What else can people expect from you as an artist?


Mandi Rose: As an artist people can expect to be suprised. I am full of suprises and like I said before I love to stir things up and be different.


News For People: Is there anything else you would like to add?


Mandi Rose: As an artist, I will continue to grow and blossom into an extremely diverse artist who genuinely just wants to share music that makes people feel something. I want to inspire people my age, I want to be able to hear - that my music helped them.


My advice to others is that it's okay to be yourself. It's GOOD to be different.


Work hard. Take things as they come and be excited about them when they're here.

Emphasize all the things that make you unique - 100%.


Let your experiences (be them good or bad) mold you . If you have a real talent - never ever doubt it & always follow your dreams - big or small. I make music to express myself and share it with all of you in hopes that it can make you feel something or express yourself.


Over the duration of a year- I've really grown. Blossomed. I found strength and love in my music and more than anything I found hope after being in a dark place for a long time.

You can listen to any of my music on SoundCloud, YouTube, Apple Music, Itunes , Spotify, Amazon music, google play- by simply searching : Mandi Rose - @MandiRose_ & @MANDIROSEMUSIC



24 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page