top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

NaJee Talks Leaving Her Mark By Remaining Focussed In The Music Industry

She's stepped away from music to concentrate on school. However, Queens artist NaJee has is ready to handle her business in the hip hop industry. With her recently released single "Vibe," it's proof that she has no intensions to slow her momentum down.


With NaJee's strong commitment in the music business, her mind is set to ensure that she remains focussed which is well documented as the Queens artist is scheduled to perform at the Common Ground Showcase on March 23rd at SOBs.

Before Jee grabs the mic for her upcoming performance, check out her interview below as she discusses the concept of her single Vibe, upcoming project, and possible tours.


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?


NaJee: I've been rapping for over a decade, since I was 13 years old, I was lyrically rapping, and I was always told to go to school and get a degree, and I did that, I went to Hunter college, and when I was done, it was when I really realized it's what I want to do. Writing is a way for me of being honest and staying true to who I am, be real. By the time I turned 22, I realized it was time to get serious. i just took that, and I ran with it. I accomplished all those goals, which I was kinda told to do with the degree, car, and apartment. I did those things. I looked back, and realized that I wasn't happy, like if I was running from something. I was running from my passion... That makes me who I am. I stop running for myself, ad i started running for myself basically.


News For People: How would describe your music?


NaJee: My music is everything I want it to be. I pretty much stand for versatility. I make songs that can make you feel sad, angry, proud sexy. Sometimes, it can make you feel all of those things at one time. That's where I think music where is. A song that shows a range of emotion, cause nobody can feel all of those emotions at one time.


News For People: What do you want people to know about your recently released single Vibe?


NaJee: The whole message of "Vibe" is like if you want something done, do it yourself. The whole idea of the song Vibe is being selfcifienrt. The vibe is being a one-man show all the time. The vibe is literally saying everybody else can't hold me up at a whole another level. The chorus is saying "It's a vibe, it's a vibe, and if I want it Imma get it supersize," and I feel and i feel that's in every relatable lyrics because I feel like it can relate to anybody at anytime. The vibe is basically saying do whatever your doing right now, at the best you can do it, and that's why in the chorus I say, "If I do it, imma do it till I die," I'm saying that this music stuff that I'm doing, I'm not gonna stop until I'm successful.


News For People: Who are some of your influences in hip hop music?


NaJee: There's so many influences. Drake, when he was in Young Money, that's where it was, and I really feel like Drake was the first male rapper to really really catch my attention, and I relate to him a lot. I admire him so much. Something with Nicki Minaj. After what she did for the female rap industry was amazing. I feel like she really opened up so many doors. She literally ran weeks up. She didn't walk, she ran. When I was like 12, 13, when I really started listening to rap, music as a child I wasn't really allowed to listen to rap music, but when I would play Drake's first album, like "Fireworks," and things like that,i know how music would mean something to me. Nicki Minaj taught me how important it is to write my music.

I used to read her music for hours like peeking at her metaphors, and as I got deeper into music more, more hip hop influences were like Big Sean, and J Cole. Kanye, I actually listened to him as a child because my mom actually listened to Kanye. He was an influence to me but I didn't even register his music as rap back in the days. That's how uneducated I was about what rap music is.


Probably one of my biggest influences is Jay Z because he teaches me that it can be bigger than hip hop. I feel like he's showing us that a black rapper can also be a billionaire, and that's what he is. He's the epitome of taking something, and super-sizing it. So, he's the vibe, lol.


News For People: How would you respond if Drake notices your music, and decide to get in contact with you for a collaboration?


NaJee: I feel like I will be ecstatic. I would definitely reach back to him as soon as possible, and show him how grateful I am to that because like the music industry is, it's collaborations. Drake makes hits, and that's pretty much my goal. That would be a bucket list. If he reached out to me, i would love that.


News For People: Going back to your recently released single Vibes, do you plan on dropping a music video for your single?


NaJee: Vibes is actually a promotional single that I don't plan on putting on my upcoming project. So I may not do a video for it just in terms of like everything costs money. Right now, i feel like Vibes is an amazing song, love that song I got visuals coming. May not be for Vibes but I definitely have visuals coming.


News For People: Wiith that being said, you definitely have an upcoming project in the works?


NaJee: Yes, I definitley have a project in the works and I'm very excited to share it with the world. I'm actually understanding what it feels like to be one of those artist that are telling their fans and their people like "hey y'all, sorry, I wanna give you new music," but you can't because everything has to be on a schedule. I'm on a schedule right now. I don't even have a public release date right now not because I don't have one but because I haven't even promoted my album in a sense.


News For People: What are your thoughts of the current status of hip hop music?


NaJee: To be honest, I used to be one of those artists, well forget artists, people while just a listener. I took a hiatus from music while I went to undergrad. I took a big one. So I couldn't focus on being a college student, and working full-time paying for college, and being a rapper. It was too much. So I took some time off but during that time i took off, I listened to music... All of it. I listen to Lil Yatchy, Lil Utzi, everybody like 6ix9ine. Listening to all these people, Tripe Redd. I listen to XXX. i listen to all these people, Juice World, and I think that nothings wrong with hip hop. Hip Hop is exactly where it needs to be.


People thinks that because something changes, somethings wrong with it, and I don't think there's anything wrong. it's easier now, well I would't say easier, but theirs more room for more artists now because how big the world is getting or how big the world already is.


You don't have to be famous to be a successful hip hop artist. I personally feel like theres's different music for everybody. Sometimes you listen to music for the beat. Sometimes you listen to it for the lyrics. I like hip hop, and I feel like it's different but it's alive. That counts for something.


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey as an artist in the hip hop game?


NaJee: Honestly, I write my own music. I pick my beats and I do my best to give you a nice catchy chorus, and I feel like that's my goal. I wanna be the type of artist that's giving good lyrics and a good beat and a hit song because a lot of artist today.. Sometimes you get a little bit of one thing, a lot of both. I will always give you all of that. Nowadays, it's hard to keep people interested. That's how you keep people interested.


News For People: Would you say that you would want a similar mindset in comprising to Drake based on how he's diverted with his music?


NaJee: Definitely so, I would definitely love to mimic him in a feminine way. I feel like I wanna do what he does for women. He did it for the men. I really feel like he's the only artist of his decade. It's a new decade now. It's just like it's time for new talent, and I can't wait to really embark on this journey when this project drops. It already started in my head. it's gonna start in everyone else's head. I would definitely love to mimic him in that sense. I admire him, I admire the businessman he is and his appetite... That's success.


News For People: What do you hope to bring to the table for your upcoming performance at the Common Ground World Music Showcase set for March 23rd at SOBs?


NaJee: I definitely plan on giving my all, just like I will at every performance. I can always promise you the total package. I'm gonna give you a good performance. Imma give you charisma on stage. Imma try my best to interact with the crowd. Show some love. I'm gonna perform three songs. at SOBs on Monday. I only have two songs released right now and I plan on performing an unreleased song so it will be my first time sharing this song with the world.


News For People: Would you say that you'll deliver a different performance at SOBs in comprising to your last show at the Nuyorican Poets Cafe?


NaJee: When I was at the Nuyorican Poets Cafe, I performed there a couple of times. Once as a poet and once as a rapper. When I performed as a rapper, I did I didn't do an original song. This is the first year of me embarking and releasing my own original music, beats that I brought. I was always like a remix artist, a freestyle artist and I've been transitioning to a real musical artist who who makes and creates songs from scratch.


News For People: What advise do you have for other artists who are pursuing their career in hip hop music?


Na Jee: I think that all artists right now at least needs to stay independent, needs to stay true to themselves, and whatever they stand for don't ever sit for it. Real authentic music still matters and real talent still matters. You wanna market yourself? the best bet is to market yourself. Music can be a career, but sometimes artists they get caught up in the fame, and that's how they loose out don money, and I don't want that to happen to no more independent artists.


News For People: Is there anything else you would like to add?


NaJee: I would promise consistency. I'm not gonna stop. I'm gonna drop consistent music, You can expect tours. I will be a touring artist. I will make music for my fans, for the people who I know are listening. As long as I know people are listening to what I'm creating, I'm never gonna stop. I'm always gonna have input and direction to my visuals. I take music video very serious just as important as studio sessions. I think it's very important to carry good visuals nowadays. I will always promise a great view, and a great music behind it.


I would love to leave off with the fact that I plan on being a successful artist but that won't be the only thing I'm gonna do. I just hope that people get tuned in because I'm ready. I'm ready for the journey. It's gonna be a crazy decade.

25 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page