top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Shalea Talks Having A Passion In Music, And Motives That Keeps Her Going In Music

Updated: Jul 23, 2020

Music has always been a passion for hip hop soul singer Shalea ever since the age of 7 years old.However, the Bronx artist made hr move into the industry official 5 years later when she recorded her own music . Since then, Shalea hasn't put the breaks on her music as she's recently released the music video for her single "Ride Or Die."


Shalea plans to continue moving forward in the music business which will begin to unfold once quarantine is no longer an obstacle for artists. With a passion, and momentum in music, Shalea is ready to mark her spot in the music business.

Check Out Shalea's interview below as she discussed holding on to a vision, and working hard to ensure it becomes a reality, passion for music is her motivation, followed by expectations of what she has planned next in the future.


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career music?


shalea: I decided to pursue a career in music when I was 7 years old. Young I know, but I had my mind set. I started to actually record my own music at 12 years old. My cousins had a home studio and I recorded there very often. I wrote and arranged all of my music even at a young age, under the guidance of my father who was a singer as well. I just always felt as if it was music or nothing.


News For People: How would you describe your music?


shalea: I hate to put myself in a box as a writer so I don’t! As a songwriter I write whatever genre I want to. Hip Hop, R&B, Gospel, Country, Pop and Reggae! So describing my music is not very easy because there are so many different layers. But my foundation is Hip Hop Soul. Those are my roots. I learned to write over hip hop beats. I approached them with a r&b flair. I practiced that for years! Those were always the type of beats that caught my ear and moved my pen!


News For People: What would yo want people to know about you as an artist?


shalea: I would want people to know that as an artist I spread the message of love and life. When I say a message of love and life, I mean I write songs about the struggles of both subjects. Life is both ups and downs. So is love. I explore different facets of relationships and life. I also try to uplift black love especially, because I feel it is important to show the beauty and struggle of that. I do that through certain songs in my own unique way.


News For People: Who are some of your influences in r&b music?


shalea: Some of my influences in R&B are Anita Baker, Luther Vandross, Joe, Mary J. Blige, Brandy, Amerie, Toni Braxton, Jill Scott, Erykah Badu, Beyonce, Monica, and Aaliyah. Long list I know. You asked for R&B but my Hip Hop influence is super heavy as well! Love HIP HOP!


That list is very long as well. If I had to narrow it down I would say growing up I studied Toni, Beyonce and and Mary! Jill and Erykah are more Neo Soul but I am heavily inspired by their artistry!


News For People: What are some of your inspirations that you include in your music?


shalea: Love is the biggest inspiration that I include in my music. I think that’s where everything starts and ends. LOVE! Think about it even if you are listening to a break up song it is inspired by love that was once there and has now faded. So when I write that is the inspiration. God hasgiven me the gift of songwriting. I thank him for that everyday.


So he is the direct influence and inspiration. Without God my pen would be stuck. The melodies would be stuck as well.


News For People: What are the concepts of hip hop soul music?


shalea: The concepts of Hip Hop Soul are feeling, vibe, and melody. Hip Hop soul is a loop with dreamy melodies that may be smooth or chopped but you feel them instantly.

News For People: What message do you feel your music sends to people?


shalea: I feel like my music sends a message of finding love, fighting for love, and choosing love! I am finishing up my EP which will be released soon with a free mixtape as a gift for my

supporters.


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey in the music industry?


shalea: My passion for music motivates me. The passion for creating keeps me going. Being an indie artist is not easy, there are so many challenges. There are many pros as well, but if you donot have a strong passion for your craft you will quit.


I have had my days of wanting to give up, but I love the art of songwriting too much to do that. So I push my pen even on the bad days. The journey is beautiful even with all the hardships. You just have to be in alignment with your purpose. Purpose is also motivation.


News For People: Although quarantine continues, are there strategies for artists to keep their supporters entertained, in your opinion?


shalea: We have to utilize this Quarantine period as artist by sharpening our tools. Whatever that tool may be rapping, singing, producing, songwriting. We have to challenge ourselves to be disciplined in consistency. Everyone’s strategy will differ. But consistency should be the common factor in how to keep your supporters engaged. For me, I like to drop freestyles.


This is a way for me to learn what my audience gravitates to. I would say to keep your supporters entertained, find your creative niche. Something that can be done without overthinking.


Maybe going live on your social media platforms and just talking can be a form of entertainment and engagement. It doesn’t only have to be about posting your Art. You are your art so make your presence available to your audience. If not do whatever is within your creative reach.


News For People: What advise would you give to a young r&b artist who is also perusing a career in music? 


shalea: Honestly I would say trust your vision. I live by this! Trusting your vision means knowing who you are and expressing that loudly and clearly. I would also say sharpen your tool every single day. Your tool is your gift. Respect your gift. To a young R&B artist I would also say learn everything you can about the business you are trying to make an impact in.


I would also say create what moves you, so you can find the people to move with you. Don’t just ride a wave. Search for your sound and bring that to the table unapologetically!


News For People: Do you have any plans prepared in the music industry that people can expect after quarantine?


shalea: I have plans after Quarantine that mainly consists of live performances. But for now I will be working on releasing the EP, mixtape and doing a virtual concert for my supporters. A music video for my single will be on the way as well.


News For People: Is there anything else you would like to add?


shalea: You are responsible for your dreams. So you have to push every day. I feel like this

Quarantine should be a time that we all do a self assessment. Not just creative work but self

work. Being an artist is the most beautiful thing, but there are draining days as well. So I just

want to encourage not only my tribe but anyone I come across, to keep pursuing their dreams.


But also take time to let your mind and spirit just be. If you have a vision for yourself as an

Artist push and move beyond your fear.


With all that is happening in our world we must be a voice for our people. We have to use our ART to do so and not be afraid!


IG: SHALEAMISSVINTAGE



11 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page