top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Shyann Lee Talks Improvising A 90s Sound And Upcoming Releases

With an interest of the 90s era, Denver Singer Shyann Lee attends to provide her sound with that anthem. With that idea in mind, she also speaks the truth in her music based on her surroundings, like personal experiences or what people close to her goes through.


There's no breaks on her path in the music industry but with a pause on music events, as a result of Covid-19, Lee improvises with a strategy to remain in connection with her supporters.


Check out Lee's interview below where she discusses improvising her sound with 90s influences, upcoming single releases, and remaining busy in the music business momentarily:

News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?


Shyann Lee: I've been singing since I was about five years old. I think I decided to finally take my music seriously when I was 16. That's when I started singing in the studio.


News For People: How would you describe your music?


Shyann Lee: I'm a huge fan of classic 90s music R&B and I've been told in the past that I have a very old soul. I would describe my music as ver 90s R&B with modern day flare.


News For People: What makes your music stand out from other artists in R&B music?


Shyann Lee: It's a different feel. Again, I cater more towards that classic 90s R&B feel. It's the classic 90s voice that I'm going for. A lot of music today, even R&B music, still kind of leans towards like a pop genre, and I wanna bring that back to more classic R&B, more singing than pop.


News For People: What about 90s R&B music makes you want to bring that genre back through your craft in music?


Shyann Lee: It's the singing of classic 90s R&B music. Back in those days, singers there weren't afraid to show their range, voices and their talents.


News For People: What's your thoughts on the current status of R&B music?


Shyann Lee: The current status of R&B music is nice but there's artists ho I love like H.E.R. and Kehlani. I think it could be a lot better.


News For People: Who are some of your influences in R&B music?


Shyann Lee: Some of my influences are Brandy and Monica. I really love. Tamia are one of my favorite singers in that era. I really love Whitey Houston, and Mariah Carey.


News For People: What are some inspirations you include in your music?


Shyann Lee: I write my own songs based on my own personal experiences with people around me. A lot of my songs are true stories. They are stories that as happened to me or someone close to me.


News For People: Are you currently working on new music or a project that people can expect?


Shyann Lee: I am, right now I do have a few songs that I'm working on, and excited about. I have one entitled "Dead End." It's about being in a toxic relationship where the person isn't good for you but you can't let them go. I have another one called "Dream About Me," which might change, and it's about wanting to know if your significant other is thinking about you just as much as your thinking about them.


I have one that I'm excited about called "Talking To You," and I wrote this song because sometimes I get down and out about myself, like I'm not good enough... Like my singing isn't good enough. Just don't feel good about myself. I do loose confidence in myself and I think that's something that is relatable to a lot people. I wrote the song to give that confidence that people need.


News For People: With the ongoing pandemic due to covid-19 how ae you as a, musician, coping with the current situation business wise?


Shyann Lee: It's been really difficult. What I've been making sure of what I'm doing is staying current on my social. I do have a couple of my singles that are out right now, like "Young Wild And Free." I did dO a couple of videos of me singing. I just stay.ing current on every social media.

News For People: DO you have any artists who you would like to collaborate with someday?


Shyann Lee: I would love to do a collaboration with H.E.R.. I think that would be really cool. I would love to team with Usher, I love him. Locally, there are artists here in Denver, where I live, that I would love to collaborate with at home.


News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey in the music industry?


Shyann Lee: My family, being able to provide for my mom and dad without having them to worry about anything.


News For People: What advise would you give to a young R&B artist who's also persuing a career in music?


Shyann Lee: The biggest advise that I was giving when I was first getting started was to just start. Whatever you have just put it out there. You never know what's gonna happen if you don't try. That's the biggest piece advise I can give. Just do it.


News For People: What else can people expect from you in the music industry?

ShyannLee: You can expect a whole bunch from me. It will be super excited.


News For People: Anything you would like to add?


ShyannLee: Check out all of my singles. Everything that's on Spotify, Apple Music, and YouTube. Just stay tuned.


12 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page