top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Sky'la Réaux Talks What She Brings To The Industry Of R&B Music

Updated: May 1, 2020

With two years in the music industry, Singer Sky'la Reaux, representing Atlanta, has her mind set to bring a RAW approach in the music industry. Meanwhile, Reaux's music is a reference of real-life situations.


Reaux wants to ensure that supporters understands her message as the artist attempts to relate her music to a topic that's meaningful like women independence which is seen in her latest music video for her single "So High."

Check Out Reaux's interview below where she details how her music stands out, motivations in r&b music, followed by future plans in the industry.


News For People: When did you decide to pursue a career in music?

Sky'la Reaux: 2018 Is when I took things seriously. That’s when I found people who believed in me.

News For People: How would you describe your music? 

Sky'la Reaux: I describe my music as RAW , unique , and fun.

News For People: What makes your music stand out from other artists in r&b music? 

Sky'la Reaux: I would say, staying true to myself and not writing about what everybody else wants me to sing about. I think my music is for girls who don’t feel like they want a guy to do anything for them. The independent kind. 

News For People: Who are some of your influences in r&b music?

Sky'la Reaux: I would have to say Teyana Taylor, Monica, Mary J Blige ....the list goes on! News For People: What are some of your inspirations that you include in your music?

  Sky'la Reaux: Inspirations would be going through real life situations that people can relate to. For example like women loving themselves first. It’s not always about a guy. Live life, have fun, be in the moment.

News For People: What are your thoughts on the current status of r&b music?


Sky'la Reaux: I feel as you are starting to hear more R&B artist now when before you mainly heard rap...but I must say we are making a come back!!! Shoutout to ALL my R&B artist!

News For People: What was the inspiration behind creating your single and music video "So High." 

Sky'la Reaux: I was sitting home recording myself and came up with vibe because I was so high. I sent it to my engineer and she came up with some lyrics and as far as the video , I wanted to showcase my sexy side a little. News For People: Is their an upcoming project that people can expect from you?  Sky'la Reaux: I don’t have a definite release date due to the unfortunate circumstances but I’m for sure going to release a project in 2020...SO STAY TUNED!

News For People: What motivates you to continue your journey in the music industry? Sky'la Reaux: My family and friends motivate me. I even get random messages here and there from people I don’t know who show me so much love. I could never let my supporters down!!!

News For People: What message do you hope people recieve from your as an artist in the music industry? Sky'la Reaux: To be free. Get it on your own. Live life and have fun!


News For People: Do you have any plans prepared in the music industry that people can expect after quarantine? Sky'la Reaux: MORE SHOWS...MORE MUSIC.....MORE EVERYTHING... Go harder!!!!!!

News For People: What advise would you give to a young r&b artist who is also perusing a career in music?


Sky'la Reaux: To go after the vision they received. Never be a puppet. Meaning do what YOU want. What makes YOU happy. Having fun doing something you love is non comparable! Never give up.


News For People: What else can people expect from you as a r&b artist?


Sky'la Reaux: I want to be able to give back...make opportunities for my people. I want to be able to make good music. Music you can feel.


News For People: Is there anything else you would like to add?


Sky'la Reaux: Stay positive! Never let anyone control your dreams. The sky is the limit!!!



23 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page