top of page
  • Writer's pictureChadwick Joanis

Tommy Gee Talks Sound By The Pound Records, Casanova And Today's Hip Hop

Updated: Dec 9, 2019

Bronx rapper Tommy Gee and his team, "Sound By The Pound Records," continues to hustle and brig the noise to their town within two years of the hip hop game, and theirs no stopping the crew at this point.


His form of rap is so hard that even Brooklyn rapper Casanova reached out to him. Furthermore, the hungry rapper wet further up in the music industry where he was featured on Casanova's project.

Check out Tommy Gee's Interview Below where he details the background of his record label and their next move:


News For People: How long have you been rapping?


Tommy Gee: I'll say, it's been going on for two years.


News For People: Already, you linked up with Casanova. How did that even happen?


Tommy Gee: It really be the gram son. The gram do everything for you. you gotta know how to talk. Do your sh*t.


News For People: You did the "So Brooklyn" Challenge, but did he responded to the video that you posted?


Tommy Gee: Yeah, yeah, he did. Well, his manager did. I think I had to do that a little early but I had things to do.


News For People: Did You and Casanova ever discussed about collaborating?


Tommy Gee: Something like that. That's why he put me on the mixtape that dropped and sh*t. It's on the cloud, "The Get Back."

News For People: You've been in the game for two years and already your on his mixtape, how do you react to that?

Tommy Gee: Nah, it's belief. You just try to get right.


News For People: For people who are hearing about your record label for the first time, what can you tell them about 'Sound By The Pound Records?'


Tommy Gee: We're small right now. It's really me, my boy Twaan Dollar, my son Jay Dollar. We got couple of n***as in deck. We're just trying to move up. We're just wilding, networking and sh*t.


News For People: Are there any upcoming shows on the teams' behalf?


Tommy Gee: Yeah, low key. December 29th, I'm supposed to open up in Jersey for lil Teegy and sh*t.


News For People: Are there any projects expected to drop soon from any member of the team?


Tommy Gee: This ain't a hundred percent but I'm probably working on an ep with my boy Richie Rozay and sh*t.


News For People: What else would you have to say for people who are expecting to hear more from you in the hip hop game?


Tommy Gee: Sh*t, you can expect what you want. I just gotta keep doing this because I f*ck with it. I'm not really into all that other stress. I'm not into all that pressure. That's why we're doing our own label. You can expect the unexpected.


News For People: Where can people find your music for download?


Tommy Gee: Everywhere bro, we're on all streaming platforms. Don't be downloading my sh*t for free though, lol. I'm about to drop some other sh*t. That's my boy Zay Gawd. That sh*t is gonna be stupid. We're trying to reach that Def Jam level.


News For People: What advice would you give other artists who are putting in work to make a name for themselves in the rap game?

Tommy Gee: It's really all about support bro and who really gonna rock with you. You gotta rock with them. Sometimes your main man ain't gonna f*ck with your sh*t as much as some n***a you don't even know.You gotta put on for them n***as. Don't stay stuck. Don't stay confutable.

News For People: What's your thought on the Casanova vs Uncle Murda situation considering that you associated yourself with Casanova?


Tommy Gee: Uncle Murda might body him, I'm not even gonna lie lol. I f**k with Cas but bars is bars. My son got a lot of clout. Uncle Murda is a true legend.


News For People: Whats your thoughts on the current status of hip hop and these new artists coming up in the game?


Tommy Gee: A lot of it sound the same. Everybody be trying to sound the same and shit like that. I'm not really with all that. Don't try to be too different. Some n***as are bringing bars back. N***as are bringing bars back for sure though. There's n***as putting it out there, talking their sh*t. We gotta bring the bars back though.


News For people: Do you have anything else you'll like to add?


Tommy Gee: Find me on Facebook, Twitter. Make sure y'all follow me on the gram Tommy Gee TV. It's lit, it's lit.

22 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page